Lewis J. Metcalf, a large-scale livestock producer who shipped cattle to Chicago by trainload and was the first in the area to do so, built the house in 1895. He had three wives (only one at a time), Addie, Carrie and Belle, who raised the Metcalf children in the house. The house is an example of the “free classic” style of Queen Anne Victorian that is characterized by classical porch columns, cornice-line dentils and other classical details.
In the early 1940’s, following Mr. Metcalf’s death, the house was sold and divided into apartments. It also served at one time as a dormitory for Buena Vista University students. Over those years, it fell into great disrepair, until it was bought in 1974 by a couple who took on many repairs and restoration efforts, eventually opening it as a bed and breakfast home around 1999.
Further restoration has been completed by the current innkeepers, removing the remaining traces of the apartment era and restoring the original footprint of the rooms on the main floor. Fully restored, it now stands as a testament to the taste of an earlier era.